The 5 C’s

The key to each diamond’s quality.

To establish a diamond’s quality, you must examine each of the 5C’s. Carat Weight, Cut, Color, Clarity and Certification. It is the overall combination of these that determines the value and beauty of a particular diamond.


The larger a diamond, the more rare.

A diamond’s weight is measured in carats, and there are 100 points to each carat. Therefore, a diamond that weighs 75 points would be three-quarters of a carat.



The better cut a diamond, the more brilliant.

While nature determines a diamond’s clarity, carat weight and color, the hand of a master craftsman is necessary to release its fire, sparkle and beauty. A well cut or faceted diamond, regardless of its shape, scintillates with fire and light, offering the greatest brilliance and value.


The less color in a diamond the more rare.

Diamonds are graded by color, starting at D and moving through the alphabet to Z, with D being the most colorless. While most diamonds appear white, virtually all display some hint of color.


The purer the diamond, the more brilliant.

The greater a diamond’s clarity, the more brilliant, valuable and rare it is. Virtually all natural diamonds contain indentifying characteristics, yet many are invisible to the naked eye. Under the scrutiny of a microscope, natural phenomena, called inclusions, may be seen.


The fifth C, the assurance of quality.

Just as important as choosing the perfect diamond, is having an outside opinion of the quality of your diamond. A diamond grading report is a quality certification from an independent gem laboratory. So you can rely not only on the opinion of the store you are purchasing the diamond from, but also a recognized gemological laboratory.

Quality Chart

The IDC Quality Chart.

Download our chart to help you through the process of choosing a diamond.